Family, Snow and Decorating Cookies

Originally, I did not have plans to be in Canada for Christmas this year. I was making plans to be alone in Honduras and spend time with my Honduran family and friends. But thanks to a ‘gift ticket’ I was able to spend the holidays with my parents in my hometown of Goderich. That started the ball rolling and my brother and his family were able to joined us as well. Now that I am a missionary, I have to take advantage of these moments and enjoy them – no matter how short they may be – because you never know when the opportunity will come again.

This has also made me well aware, that in reality, all of us need to make the most of these opportunities.

We never know when our loved ones will not be with us anymore.
We never know when it will be our last family photo – that we don’t always enjoy taking.
Our last meal together – filled to overflowing, but there’s still room for a butter tart!
Our last hug, last walk, last…

Ephesians 5:16 says ‘make the most of every opportunity‘ and that is what this Christmas has meant to me. We only had a few days to spend together, but it was great! We went bowling, built a gingerbread house, decorated cookies, watched our favourite Christmas movie ‘White Christmas’, ate way too much food and just spend time together. Not sure that my almost 2-year-old nephew will remember much of it, but it’s the time together that we spent that matters the most.

I encourage you today. I know that not everyone has a family they enjoy being around. I know that there is often hurt and sadness at this time of the year. I pray that God’s peace will fill your heart and mind today. I also pray that you will make the most of every opportunity this holiday season.
Do the family photo and squeeze everyone in.
Have fun together – even it’s a crazy game of Uno.
Watch a Christmas classic.
Reminisce about the good times with family members who are not there this year.

We do not get to decide when our last day will be our last – so enjoy today to the fullest!

May God bless you and fill your heart with joy in anticipation for what He has in store for 2019!

Categories: Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Family, Snow and Decorating Cookies

  1. Mark Hazzard

    Well said Kathy!
    Blessings and joy on you and your family-
    Mark

    Like

I'd love to hear your thoughts on this post!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog at WordPress.com.